Half The Sky

HALF THE SKY – Written by Carroll Bryant

 

There is no such thing as love

Only touch

Only frill and fluff

I heard your words

And you speak like an unwritten book

And you take what has already been took

Until you make your way into my broken heart

Into my broken world

Underneath half the sky

I live like I just want to die with you

Underneath half the moon

Half the stars

Half of everything that can be torn apart

And nobody even knows why

There’s only half the sky

 

You can’t live into forever

I’m the breath that you can’t digest

Slip and slide

Too smart to be clever

And you drip like the water in the wind

And you run completely out of oxygen

Until you make your way into my broken dreams

Into my dingy screams

Underneath half the sky

I live like I want to un-cry with you

Underneath half the moon

Half the stars

Half of everything that was torn apart

And no, I just can’t tell you why

There’s only half the sky

 

Could there be a snake in the garden of Eden?

The apple falls from the lifeless tree

I take the tempting bite of frustration

And I’m free

Free to leave

Free to believe

You are Lilith

 

There is no such thing as love

Only enough

Only jilt and junk

I hate your words

Because you speak like a meaningless muse

Too tattered after being overused

Until you make your way into my arms

Into my empty charms

Underneath half the sky

I live like I need to fly with you

Underneath half the moon

Half the stars

Half of everything that’s not torn apart

And nobody even knows why

There’s only half the sky

Leave a Reply

