Baptized

BAPTIZED – Written by Carroll Bryant

 

Everything around us starts breaking apart

Breaking our hearts

Giving us reason to walk away

 

You and me struggle like a couple of fools

Breaking the rules

Take it or leave it and we live with the pain

 

We can’t seem to make decisions

One look reveals just how we feel

Don’t give this love a circumcision

I’m standing here

So let me make this clear

I love you

I need you

I don’t want to try and make it without you

 

And I want to be baptized in your eyes

Maybe you can save me with some Harlequin nights

And I realize that you’re right

Can’t battle my history for the rest of my life

It never will be easy

Love is never for the blind

And I want to be baptized in your eyes

So I can baptize you with mine

 

Every step taken is another step forward

Watching with horror

One foot up and two feet down

 

You and me differ like there’s no tomorrow

Making it harder

Giving each other the big run around

 

We can’t seem to find an answer

One touch at large can supercharge

Let’s give this love just one more prayer

I’m standing here

So let me make this clear

I know you

I want you

I don’t ever want to try living without you

 

And I want to be baptized in your eyes

Maybe you can save me with some Harlequin nights

And I realize that you’re right

Can’t battle my history for the rest of my life

It never will be easy

Love is never for the blind

And I want to be baptized in your eyes

So I can baptize you with mine

 

Let’s put it to sleep

With an angels voice to a lullaby

There’s so much to keep

Let’s give this love just one more try

And maybe our sun will finally shine

If you are the one then maybe, so am I

 

Everything around us starts breaking apart

Breaking our hearts

Giving us reason to walk away

 

You and me struggle like a couple of fools

Breaking the rules

Take it or leave it and we live with the pain

 

We can’t seem to make decisions

One look reveals just how we feel

Don’t give this love a circumcision

I’m standing here

So let me make this clear

I love you

I need you

I don’t want to try and make it without you

 

And I want to be baptized in your eyes

Maybe you can save me with some Harlequin nights

And I realize that you’re right

Can’t battle my history for the rest of my life

It never will be easy

Love is never for the blind

And I want to be baptized in your eyes

So I can baptize you with mine

 

And I want to be baptized in your eyes

So I can baptize you with mine

Leave a Reply

