Flesh And Bones

FLESH AND BONES – Written by Carroll Bryant

 

We are made of the flesh

We are made of the bones

Spend a lifetime destroying

Our hearts and our souls

We are made of the magic

The magic’s unknown

We are made of the flesh

We are made of the bones

 

Can we see beyond the night?

Can our eyes stand the sight of the light?

Will evil prevail?

Are we all doomed for Hell?

Or is Hell just made up in our minds?

 

I want the answer!

I want it now!

Not in a prayer!

Some other way, somehow!

I want the truth!

And still keep my youth!

But I am only flesh and bones

Do you fear that great unknown?

 

We are made of the flesh

We are made of the bones

Spend a lifetime destroying

Our hearts and our souls

We are made of the magic

The magic’s unknown

We are made of the flesh

We are made of the bones

 

Can we see beyond our minds?

Can our eyes see the truth deep inside?

Will insanity prevail?

If it did, could we tell?

Or is insanity our reason in disguised?

 

I’ll find the answer!

I’ll keep on searching!

Not in a prayer!

And not in the churches!

I’ll get the truth!

And still keep my youth!

Even though I’m flesh and bones

 

And everyday I feel so alone

That is the worst unknown

 

Does it make you scared?

Or do you even care?

Do your feelings show?

We’re all going to go

 

(Blow)

 

And we are only flesh and bones

 

We are made of the flesh

We are made of the bones

Spend a lifetime destroying

Our hearts and our souls

We are made of the magic

The magic’s unknown

We are made of the flesh

We are made of the bones

2 thoughts on “Flesh And Bones

Leave a Reply

