Autumn Leaves

AUTUMN LEAVES – Written by Carroll Bryant

 

I travel back in time

To a place of yesterday and there I find

A pretty face where I can still recall her smile

And it warms my heart and soul

 

My spirit was so wild

And in her eyes I knew she saw me as a child

Imagine my surprise the moment she did take my hand

And it touched me deep to know

 

That I finally found someone to share my life

A woman that I knew would be my wife

But I lost it all so tragically late one angry night

And I promised myself to remember

Until the very day I died

 

So in the memory of my unforgotten love

I still vow to thee in the hopes I rise above

In the midnight underneath a lonely moon

This man still grieves

But by the grace of God I still remember

And as always, autumn leaves

 

I get to here and now

And in my heart I have managed to somehow

Play the part even tho I was a fool

To have believed that God’s to blame

 

The guilt inside of me

Built a wall and so I never could break free

From it all until I fell for someone else

And with it, gone is all my pain

 

And so I found somebody else to share my life

With a blessing I will make this girl my wife

For it happened in the blink of an eye one grateful night

And I promised myself to remember

Until the very day I died

 

So in the memory of my unforgotten love

I still vow to thee in the hopes I rise above

In the midnight underneath a lonely moon

This man still grieves

But by the grace of God I still remember

And as always, autumn leaves

 

And so I ride the wind to the temple of the sun

Life begins again, to witness each and everyone

I bow to the king and all the happiness he brings

And to the girl who has invaded my world

 

My troubled world

 

In the memory of my unforgotten love

I still vow to thee in the hopes I rise above

In the midnight underneath a lonely moon this man still grieves

But by the grace of God I still remember

And as always, autumn leaves

And by the grace of God I still remember

And as always, autumn leaves

Leave a Reply

