The Simple Life

THE SIMPLE LIFE – Written by Carroll Bryant

I get up in the morning and I take route 105

I got to earn a paycheck just to keep myself alive

I listen to the radio play some Patsy Cline

The weekend’s just ahead of me … I got one thing on my mind

I’m gonna go out huntin with my old hound dog

Take me a break on a hickory log

And stare out at nature – she has a lot to give

Gonna sit on the porch with my mom and dad

After having the best supper I ever had

It’s a simple life but that’s just the way it is (oh yeah)

This is the way a country boy should live

It seems like all I ever hear are people that complain

They don’t like the sunshine and they don’t like the rain

All I want from living is peace and harmony

I got my love of Christian faith for God and family

And I go out huntin with my old hound dog

Take me a break on a hickory log

And stare out at nature – she has a lot to give

Gonna sit on the porch with my mom and dad

After having the best supper I ever had

It’s a simple life but that’s just the way it is (oh yeah)

This is the way a country boy should live

And late at night when I go to sleep

I pray the lord my soul he keeps

But I hope I get to live to see just one more day

And if I die before I wake

I pray the lord my soul he takes

And puts me in a special place where I so long to be

Where I can go out huntin with my old hound dog

Take me a break on a hickory log

And stare out at nature – she has a lot to give

Gonna sit on the porch with my mom and dad

After having the best supper I ever had

It’s a simple life but that’s just the way it is (oh yeah)

This is the way a country boy should live

I said this is the way a country boy should live

Leave a Reply

